A sheet of squared paper is needed. The playing grid may be
rectangular but must be sufficiently large. The players each
coloured pen. Each takes turn to colour a node of
the grid and aims to create regions of territory that
surround the opponent's points. The winner is
the person who surrounds more of his opponent's points.
A region of territory is established once a player has
completed a chain of points that completely encircles at least
one of the opponent's points. The points that form the chain
need to connect either
orthogonally with each other or diagonally across a square of
the grid. When a
player has formed an enclosing chain he can create a region of
territory by drawing a line through the chain of points. A
not obliged to do this immediately and may choose to do so at a
later moment during the game. He
may create the region of territory on any of his subsequent moves. Several regions of
territory may, if possible, be drawn on the same move.
Valid territories. )
Invalid territory - the chain of points need to enclose at least one of
the opponent's points. )
A player may not make use of the edges of the playing grid or
the corners to make an enclosure. In the following diagram
White cannot create territory by playing
at the nodes marked 'A' or 'B'. One consequence of
this rule is that a chain of points that is connected
to an edge of the grid is safe from capture
Invalid enclosures; and a safe
edge-connected chain of points. )
Captured points inside a region of territory have no
influence on the game. In particular they cannot be used by a
player to form territory. In the following diagram
Black cannot make use of the marked point to create territory
by playing at the node marked 'A'. Regions of territory belonging to the opposing players cannot
not capture across a region of territory. )
However if White
not yet declared his region of territory then Black may play at the
node marked 'A' and create his own territory.
Before and after.
capture because White has not yet declared a region of territory. )
Regions of territory may themselves be captured. In
the following position White can capture Black's territory if he
the nodes marked 'A' and 'B'. The configuration
which was previously worth 1 point to
Black is now worth 6 points to White.
territory, before and after. )
Passing is not allowed.
No player may make a move inside any region of territory, either
inside his own or inside his opponent's.